A Poem By Corey Zeller

The Awl
The Awl
Published in
1 min readJun 21, 2012

--

by Mark Bibbins, Editor

When they discovered the wheel they done the wrong thing with it

It is always that way with invention, these diagrams and charts, machines that look like the insides of hummingbirds. Sentences dye themselves colors we haven’t seen and dry themselves, on the rocks, in the sun, on their own. They look tacky, a kind of flea market of syntax and emphasis, undignified patterns, punctuation like early flying machines, the kind you peddle in. They are not a part of us. This is the long way of saying I never liked talking. I am searching for something else people can do inside these bleached headphones. I am bobbing my head to static. I cite myself in the white.

Corey Zeller’s Man vs. Sky is forthcoming from YesYes Books in February 2013. He is an associate editor at Mud Luscious Press.

There are many more poems in the archives of The Poetry Section. You may contact the editor at poems@theawl.com.

--

--