All Celebrities Should Publish Their Bathtime Playlists

(Assuming celebrities take baths.)

Christine Friar
The Awl
2 min readDec 14, 2016

--

Instagram

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

To: The celebrity community
From: Your friend Christine Friar

Subject: Bathtime playlists

Hey guys,

It’s been a while since I Bcc’d everyone, but one of the newest people in your ranks has done something good and I’d like to bring it to your attention. Chance the Rapper (whom you may recognize from his Coloring Book mixtape or Kanye West’s “Ultralight Beam”) shared a playlist called “Yup” with fans this week, and instead of throwing a haphazard arrangement of his favorite songs together, it’s specifically tailored to his dream bathtub experience.

“I take a shower everyday. But when is it Bath time? Now,” he tweeted. “Enjoy a bath once in a while... Get in the tub, press shuffle and treat yourself.”

The playlist includes Donny Hathaway, Kirk Franklin, Solange, and Bon Iver, but that’s almost secondary to the simple fact that he made it in the first place:

Do you listen to music in the shower, celebrity friend? I do. I keep a running Spotify playlist of my favorite new songs every year (this year’s is called ~2016 favs~), and when I bathe I like to throw it on shuffle and chill just as Chano suggests. The fact that he does this too, and that on top of it he seems to enjoy a soak just as much as any bath bomb-having Pinterest queen, is very endearing. He even posted an Instagram story of himself listening to the playlist in the bath:

Could this be a paid ad by Apple Music? Definitely. But if so it’s working. You should get your people on the horn with whoever Chance’s team is talking to*. It is fun to imagine different people unwinding.

Anyway, thanks for your time. Looking forward to what you come up with as a community.

Christine

______

* I would ask that you do it on Spotify though, so I can engage the playlist without my phone and computer hemorrhaging like it’s 1999 and I’m trying to open a Powerpoint email attachment.

--

--