How To Say “Suck My Own Cock” In Italian

and French and Spanish and Portuguese

Silvia Killingsworth
The Awl
2 min readJul 31, 2017

--

Image: Theo Curmudgeon

What’s funny is that when it comes to “I’m not trying to suck my own cock” the Italian doesn’t use cazzo. No, you see, as Costanza Rizzacasa d’Orsogna explained to me (she writes for Corriere della Sera, but I couldn’t find a frank translation of all this on their site), you could translate suck my own cock literally as succhiarmi il cazzo, but Italian has a better expression: fare il pompino, literally ‘do the little pump’, figuratively ‘give a blowjob’. And that’s what HuffPo went with: “Non mi interessa farmi i pompini da solo” — ‘I’m not interested in giving myself solo blowjobs’.

Personally I could do without the gleefully ornamental just-because-I-can fucks in the post itself, but that seems like a moot point on a blog dedicated to swears, but otherwise this post about how various news outlets translated or interpreted the Lizza-Scaramucci phone call is just wonderful. Should you ever find yourself (back at) the Blue Lagoon, here’s how to say “Reince is a fucking paranoid schizophrenic” in Icelandic:

“Reince er fjandans ofsóknarbrjálaður geðklofasjúklingur.”

You can read the whole thing here.

--

--

Silvia Killingsworth
The Awl

Editor of The @Awl and @thehairpin. Patron Saint of early bedtimes.