I Think I Solved The Mystery Of Ron Livingston’s Face

Can you check my math here?

Christine Friar
The Awl
3 min readDec 12, 2016

--

Sharpen your mechanical pencils and take out your graphing calculators, I need you to peer edit some work. World renowned mathematician Chase Mitchell recently got in touch with a groundbreaking new theorem, and I’d like to share it with you now:

1 Kyle Chandler (any) + 1 Mark Duplass (any) = 1 Ron Livingston (any)

Not convinced by the equation alone? I was skeptical too at first, but after running their faces through my algorithm I have to say, I think Chase may be onto something.

1 Chandler + 1 Duplass = 1 Livingston

See it? The boyish good looks of a Chandler with the sleepy eyes of a Duplass. A Livingston! Could be a fluke, though. Let’s rearrange the components and see how it shakes out:

1 Duplass + 1 Chandler = 1 Livingston

There it is again! The pale couch-lover aesthetic of a Duplass with the quiet handsomeness of a coach delivering a heartfelt monologue to some teens. If you’re not sold yet, we could always start with the final product and work our way back:

1 Livingston = 1 Chandler + 1 Duplass

Seems like some pretty conclusive stuff as far as I’m concerned, but I’d love you to check our work—just to make sure we didn’t miss a decimal or forget to convert everything from kilometers to miles.

--

--