Jia-Yi He, Professional Harmonica Player

The Awl
The Awl
Published in
4 min readFeb 10, 2011

by Andrew Piccone

Tell me about the harmonica.

In 1964 when I was 10 or 11, I started playing harmonica. I got a harmonica from my older sister, she had played for about two years. I found the sounds to be wonderful, and I loved it. After playing harmonica, I tried many other instruments. I played the Chinese fiddle, the violin, the cello, the piano, every instrument I wanted to try. But no matter what I always came back to the harmonica. I think the harmonica has a very special, unique sound. When playing the harmonica, I have a easier time controlling the music than with other instruments, it’s just using your breath, it’s so simple. I’ve been playing for 47 years! I’m still interested in the harmonica because it is so unique, it’s such an interesting instrument. There is so much you can do with it. There are harmonica concertos, classical music, everything. In the harmonica world there are not too many classical players, not like the violin or the piano. It’s the same mentality though, you have to practice everyday, take it seriously. I love classical music, that’s what I play mostly with the standards thrown in there too.

How do you respond to the idea that the harmonica is a novelty instrument?

Well, I think the violin or the piano have very long histories that the harmonica does not. Most instruments have been around for hundreds of years, the harmonica has not. It’s very young, it has 180 years of history. So if you think about it like that, the harmonica still has a very long way to go. The instrument is still evolving. Most people play the harmonica for fun, but if you want to play classical music on the harmonica you need to learn how to read music and practice. You must practice. I had learned all these other instruments growing up, and the classical music training helped me to learn classical music on the harmonica. I took many pieces written for other instruments and taught myself how to play them on the harmonica. There is very little music that is written for the harmonica, so you have to make do, improvise and do things differently. Over time the harmonica will progress and become an instrument you see more. Every year the harmonica you see in more and more places.

Where are you from originally?

I am from China, I was born in Beijing. I came to the United States in 1998. In China, I was a performer, I performed all over the country, and I traveled worldwide to play. Before I moved to the United States, I came here to compete in the national harmonica competition in 1991 and I came in 3rd place. When I moved here, I came with a performance visa, an artists visa. I liked it here, so I applied for permanent residence status. I like New York, I like the music here, I like the audience here. I travel all over though. I like to travel. Playing in the United States is different than in China. Usually in China I play with other people, as a part of a larger show, or with a group. In the United States when I play I usually will play alone, and have solo concerts. I like it better to be playing by myself, right now I do both, but mostly I will play a concert solo. I live in Queens now, I like Queens, I like being close to both airports.

Have you heard any good jokes lately?

Um, oh, one time, this is very funny, I was hired to do a concert. Usually I come prepared and I read my music. This time I forgot to bring it. So when I get there and the concert starts and I don’t have my music book! So what can I do? It was really terrible. But I realize I can play from memory. So in that concert I played with no music, and it was wonderful! So, because of that, right now, I try to memorize all the music I play.

You went on “America’s Got Talent” a few years ago?

I did! That was a great opportunity to show a more mainstream audience what the harmonica is capable of. I used a few different kinds of harmonicas, sometimes I use one, sometimes I use five. In March I’m going back to Europe to play in Oxford, and for that show I’m going to use 16 harmonicas! The audience on “America’s Got Talent,” they seemed to like it a lot. The judges, too, and everyone stood up at the end. I was selected to move forward and play in Las Vegas. It was very good.

What’s the best part about what you do?

The harmonica is a very easy instrument. Everyone can learn, one day, two days, three day, you can learn. Some people don’t believe me, I tell people you can learn this. It’s all breath, it’s only from controlled breath. There are only a few holes, that’s it! Everybody can learn, very quickly. There is no age limit to the harmonica, I teach people who are young, and over 70 years old! With the piano, your fingers change as you get older. With the harmonica, your mouth, your lips, they’re always soft! If you can sing, you can play.

Andrew Piccone is a photographer in New York.

--

--