Lil Wayne, “It’s Good”

Dave Bry
The Awl
Published in
1 min readAug 25, 2011

“I know there won’t be any repercussions behind what I did. I know for a fact music is about perception. You can’t do anything but perceive what you hear. I know that for a fact. So I can’t ever be upset about someone’s reaction.”
Lil Wayne says something about facts and perception when asked by Vibe about dissing Jay-Z on his new song, which samples the title track from The Alan Parsons Project’s 1976 album, The Cask of Amantillado.

Remember that great Alan Parsons Project video from 1984?

I love that one. Maybe Jay-Z should sample it for his response record. The title serving as a subtle way of saying, “Let’s let this be the end of this.”

--

--

Dave Bry
The Awl

I grew up in New Jersey. I live in New York. I write for the Awl, and also a book called Public Apology, for Grand Central Publishing.