New MTV Style Blogger Improves World Instantly

Dave Bry
The Awl
Published in
1 min readMar 7, 2011

“Right? I mean, let’s be all the way real. This is not cold fusion. We’re dealing with things like crackle nail polish, bangs, cocktail dresses, bags and shoes. Stuff that is nothing more than random articles of listless bric-a-brac… ZOMG I am just kidding. All of these things are crucial and we will talk about them with the gravitas and devotion they deserve. In any case, I just hope this space will develop organically, find its voice and get along with the rest of the online community… and bludgeon competitors to a bloody, wretched pulp of searing envy and bits of hair. SIKE. I just hope you guys like me. And that you’ll bear with me while I splish around and figure out what I’m doing. Meow. First day. Who am I gonna even eat lunch with?”
Awl pal Mary H.K. Choi has started her blog at MTV Style. And the world is already better.

--

--

Dave Bry
The Awl

I grew up in New Jersey. I live in New York. I write for the Awl, and also a book called Public Apology, for Grand Central Publishing.