Pharrell Williams Is 40

Dave Bry
The Awl
Published in
1 min readApr 5, 2013

Probably one of the four of five most prominent hip-hop producers of all time, Pharrell Williams turns 40 today. The new Myspace is celebrating with a nice collection of 41 of his greatest hits to listen to. (One to grow on, I guess.) But right here, please enjoy his latest, with the very-blue-eyed soul singer Robin Thicke (the one who’s dad was on “Growing Pains”) and T.I. It’s a perfect little remake of the gorgeously slinky beat he made for Jay-Z’s “I Just Wanna Love U (Give It To Me)” thirteen years ago. The video borrows style from 1980’s Robert Palmer videos, and there’s a version with lots of nudity you can watch if you’re a perv. Happy birthday, Pharrell!

--

--

Dave Bry
The Awl

I grew up in New Jersey. I live in New York. I write for the Awl, and also a book called Public Apology, for Grand Central Publishing.