Springtime For Jami Attenberg And Germany

Dave Bry
The Awl
Published in
1 min readApr 26, 2013

“I did not learn to cook, either. Instead I have become a superior dinner guest. I am wonderful to have at your side while you cook, particularly if you give me a glass of wine, and also to have sit at your table, because I will appreciate your food in a deep, emotional and highly verbal way.”
Awl pal Jami Attenberg

reminds us that the key ingredient in chicken noodle soup is “guilt.” In other news, her wonderful novel The Middlesteins has been picked up by German publishing company Schoffling & Co. It’s fun to imagine the conversations at the office about how to handle the retitling of this most Jewishy book about a Jewish American family for a Deutschland audience.

--

--

Dave Bry
The Awl

I grew up in New Jersey. I live in New York. I write for the Awl, and also a book called Public Apology, for Grand Central Publishing.