Ten Rap Stars Who Have Come Out In Support Of Gay Equality

Dave Bry
The Awl
Published in
1 min readMay 16, 2012

Our friends at ego trip count Jay-Z’s comments to CNN Monday as the fourth example of a notable rapper to have “publicly voiced some progressive opinion on the issue.” (After Chuck D, El-P and Fat Joe.) But there have been more! 50 Cent, Eminem, Prodigy, ASAP Rocky and Lil B have, too. And N.O.R.E, who last year told XXL magazine, “If a gay person bothers you, that’s because they know something about you that you don’t know about yourself yet… Nobody should really care what happens in someone else’s bedroom… That’s their lifestyle. It doesn’t bother me. I live my lifestyle my way. It doesn’t bother me.”

--

--

Dave Bry
The Awl

I grew up in New Jersey. I live in New York. I write for the Awl, and also a book called Public Apology, for Grand Central Publishing.