Texas Republicans Hate Every Jew But Jesus

Alex Balk
The Awl
Published in
1 min readDec 7, 2010

“They’re some of my best friends. I’m not bigoted at all; I’m not racist.”
— Texas State Republican Executive Committee member John Cook explains that his desire to oust Republican House Speaker Joe Straus, who is Jewish, is not a matter of prejudice. “I got into politics to put Christian conservatives into office. They’re the people that do the best jobs over all,” says Cook, who wants to oust the Republican House Speaker because he is Jewish. “My favorite person that’s ever been on this earth is a Jew,” added Cook, presumably referring to Woody Allen. On a related note, I have always thought that I could have a lucrative sideline in being a public figure’s “Jewish friend” in times of crisis. “Why, I’ve known John Cook for years, and he doesn’t have an anti-Semitic bone in his body,” I would be happy to say. For a fee, of course. You know how Jews are about money.

Photo by Larry D. Moore.

--

--