Tom Brady Still Has That Make America Great Again Hat

Go Falcons.

Christine Friar
The Awl
2 min readJan 30, 2017

--

Flickr

This Sunday, the New England Patriots will face off against the Atlanta Falcons at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas for Super Bowl 51. Also, quarterback Tom Brady owns a Make America Great Again Hat and did press about it back in the fall.

I’m not a big football head, and up until being reminded this morning I had no vested interest in either team winning Sunday’s game, but when an industry golden boi colludes with Donald Trump’s presidency it might be time to say, “Hey, you’re bad” whether you nut for ‘ball or not.

According to Time:

“[Trump] sent it to me via R.K.K. (Patriots owner Robert Kraft),” Brady said on Tuesday…“I mean it’s pretty amazing what he’s been able to accomplish,” the football star said. “He obviously appeals to a lot of people, and he’s a hell of a lot of fun to play golf with.”

According to ABC:

“I’ve known him since 2002 when I judged one of his beauty pageants … so I’ve known him for a long time,” Brady said. “He always gives me a call and different types of motivational speeches at different times.” … Brady went on to say that Trump is “a good friend and we’ve had a lot of time on the golf course together.”

According to New York Magazine:

“Look, I’ve known him for a long time. He’s been a fun guy that I’ve had a lot of time around. The fact that he’s running, it’s obviously led to a lot of stories and debates, and I know the ratings were huge for all those Republican debates and so forth… whatever I vote is going to be my own personal choice based on how I feel. I don’t even know what the issues are. I haven’t paid attention to politics in a long time. It’s actually not something that I really even enjoy. It’s way off my radar.”

According to Don:

Best case, Tom’s boss Robert Kraft stans for Trump and Tom feels like he can’t publicly say anything less-than-pleasant because he recently got in trouble for cheating and embarrassed the family (that “huge ratings” comment sounds… familiar). Worst case, the symmetrical, able-bodied, cis, straight, white, blue-eyed, millionaire professional athlete that tabloid culture fetishizes as Iconically Desirable is acting… exactly how a cynic might expect someone from his demographic to act. Likely case, we’re dealing with a little from column A, a little from column B.

No matter what, our president sounds like a thirsty rando trying to get in with the populars, and Tom doesn’t seem to hate it for whatever reason, so. Ya know. Go Falcons.

--

--