What’s Up With Nick Denton’s Very Reasonable Time Warner Cable Bill?

Is it possible that the Gawker founder does not have cable TV?

Silvia Killingsworth
The Awl
1 min readAug 1, 2016

--

According to Denton’s bankruptcy filing, in addition to owing Terry Bollea (Hulk Hogan) $125 million, he only owes Time Warner $120.88. How is that possible? A quick sampling of TWC customers reveals that the average Triple Play customer in Brooklyn no longer on a promotional deal is paying around $170–200 per month, and some Verizon FiOS customers upwards of $250. That includes a phone too, but no one cares about the phone part, so the phone is almost always free and it’s only so your parents can call you on a “landline” that isn’t even a real landline anymore.

I guess what I’m saying is, is Denton a cord-cutter, or did he lock in a really good price in 2002? So I asked him via Twitter DM, and he told me he has internet only!

I’m a cord-cutter. It helps me relate to millennials. Joke. Actually, I simply can’t bear any interface other than Apple’s.

What a world.

--

--

Silvia Killingsworth
The Awl

Editor of The @Awl and @thehairpin. Patron Saint of early bedtimes.