Balancing Motherhood and My Tech Career: Juggling the Demands of Two Challenging Jobs

Brittney Ball
The <B> Word
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2022

--

Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash

Working as a single mom is no easy task. There are times when I feel like I’m spread too thin. Like I can’t do it all. This is why I make it a point to remind myself daily that nothing worth having comes easy. So, I put my head down and push through. I know that’s possible as long as I stay focused and motivated. Because at the end of the day, I want to be a successful mom and tech professional.

It takes dedication, patience, organization, discipline, and the will to succeed. It’s tough enough trying to juggle work and family life, and when you add working remotely into the mix it can make things a little more difficult. However, it’s definitely doable with the right tools and strategies.

The first step is to create a schedule and stick to it. Dedicate specific times during the day for work and for family time, and try your best to stick to that schedule as closely as possible. This can be difficult when there are always distractions waiting at home, but if you can stay focused and dedicated you’ll be able to get a lot done.

The next step is to create a designated workspace in your home. This can be as simple as setting up a desk in a corner of the living room, or it can be something more elaborate like creating an office in your basement or attic. However, you choose to do it, make sure that the space is comfortable and conducive to productivity.

Here are some tips that have helped me:

-Create a schedule and stick to it. This will help you stay organized and on track.

-Use technology to your advantage. There are a lot of great tools out there that can help you stay on top of your work.

-Take breaks when needed. It’s important to take some time for yourself, especially when you’re feeling overwhelmed.

-Don’t be afraid to ask for help. There are plenty of people who are willing to lend a hand, you just have to ask.

What strategies do you use to balance work and family life? Share in the comments below!

--

--