2017 was turn-based…

Piran Jade
The Backlog: GOG.com Stream Team Blog

--

…at least for me.
Over the last years I always found there was a „theme“ to what games I enjoyed most during a certain year, and in 2017 those were turn-based games. And I was spoiled for choice. So many excellent turn-based games came out, I couldn’t even play them all, and I’m sure I missed out on many great titles.
The following 5 games were therefore chosen solely among the games I played and enjoyed.

So here are they are, my personal turn-based highlights of 2017 in no particular order.

Cosmic Star Heroine - in the underwater base

Cosmic Star Heroine

A successful kickstarter project, Cosmic Star Heroine comes with absolute gorgeous pixel art graphics, a turn-based combat system that challenges you to use synergies between your characters (at least if you play on higher difficulties), a story with some nice plot twists and peppered with just the right amount of humor.
The game is not flawless: When backtracking you can run into dialogue meant for members of your team that aren’t currently present. Also the game just makes you crave for more. To know more about the characters, to see more of the wold, to fight more enemies.

StarCrawlers - early mission

StarCrawlers

Dungeon crawling in space! StarCrawlers made me so happy!
The wacky humor, the different character classes, the combat, the world, the choices it offered, this game scratched an itch that I didn’t know I had. It even lets you import your own character portraits! You can choose between story missions and optional missions on with different objectives and gaining you reputation or dislike with several factions. A few riddles, some hidden items, the game is just thoroughly enjoyable if you don’t mind the occasional grind.
For sure, dungeon crawling isn’t for everyone, and not everybody is into sci-fi but if you like both, you will enjoy this game as much as I did.
And I did have a lot of fun: https://clips.twitch.tv/GorgeousBenevolentTermiteJonCarnage

Niche - I like derpy looking creatures like Fred here

Niche

I already bought Niche during Early Access and played it a bit then but not as much as after release.
In Niche you breed creatures (and give them names if you want) on randomized islands and try to help this tribe survive and reach the end of the game. Or you play sandbox mode. All turn-based, of course.
Niche offers complicated but accessible genetics, tough survival and varied gameplay due to all the different traits your creatures can have and all the challenges the different islands throw at you.
Take it slow, enjoy every little new addition to your tribe but try to not get too attached. *sniff*

D:OS 2 - I couldn’t decide on a screenshot because there is so much I’d like to show

Divinity: Original Sin 2

I’m not sure if I even need to say much about this fantastic game.
But maybe there is somebody out there who still hasn’t heard about Divinity: Original Sin 2, so here we go:
D:OS 2 is an epic RPG with turn-based combat. You can either choose to create a character from scratch or choose one of 6 pre-made characters. You can also have up to three companions chosen from those pre-mades which come with unique stories, conversation options and much more. You can also play in co-op with another human player. Oh, and there is a game master mode for user-created adventures which you can play with a dungeon master! The story is great, the combat is fun, diverse and challenging, the graphics are beautiful, the music is superb…
For me this game is a mix of the best from Ultima 7 and Baldur’s Gate. But modern. And so beautiful.

ToCS - the game has one of those anime intros I love so much!

Trails of Cold Steel

This game’s full name is actually “The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel” and it is technically not a 2017 release because it was first released in Japan for the PS 3 in 2013. But it was released for Windows PC in 2017 and that was when I started playing it, so for me it’s one of my turn-based games of 2017.
In ToCS you play as Rean Schwarzer, a student at Thors Military Academy who, of course, is put into a special class.
In many ways this game is a classical JRPG and it is so good at what it does. It offers a relationship system for Rean and his class mates, it has fishing, cooking, a card game, different costumes, an interesting skill system, mini games… And as you are a student it also has exams and grades.
It is a fun game that makes you happy. The best way of being sent back to school!

These were 5 turn-based games I enjoyed in 2017.
And what about you? What flavor of games dominated your gaming in 2017?

--

--

Piran Jade
The Backlog: GOG.com Stream Team Blog

PC gamer, cooking enthusiast, book lover, generally happy. My opinions are my own. I hope.