How to Write Micro-fiction

A step-by-step to write a micro-fiction story

Britanny Levy
The Backstages of Writing

--

Photo by PlushDesignStudio, on Canva

Last year, I became addicted to writing micro-fiction.

It all started with Twitter and the hashtag #vss365. Daily, a word-prompt is posted, and you have to write a story up to 280 characters, that includes the #word. I also participated in a few #SeducemeSunday prompts.

When Twitter became highly distractive (meaning: a massive weapon of procrastination), I gave it up. My priority was to write my novel, and I was doing anything but.

I stopped participating in #vss365, but my passion for micro-fiction was well alive. I kept writing and publishing it; honing my skills: not only for micro-fiction but as a fiction writer.

Micro-fiction is much more than compact a story: it’s an arduous version of fiction writing. Let me elucidate you why:

What is micro-fiction?

A micro-fiction piece is a story told in 300 or fewer words. It’s a subset of flash fiction, which limits stories to 1000 words.

Ernest Hemingway wrote the most famous micro-story. He used only six words:

For sale: baby shoes, never worn.

The challenge of writing a micro-story is to make every word count. You must pick…

--

--

Britanny Levy
The Backstages of Writing

Professional domestic abuse advocate by day; a writer by night and a street photographer in my free time. A counsellor in the make.