Light up your life

A Time To Smile

The Joy within me

--

Photo by @hyingchou via unsplash

A time to smile
Smile the way I use to
when I had no clue
Smiling when thinking all joy in the world was free
and the offering of kindness was never for a fee
Milkshakes
and
Blueberry pancakes
Burgers with or without fries
Weighing in was only in conversation
never for any medical occasion
Oh
and then
the girls
Lord, oh heavenly lord
you could speak freely
play friskily
Love meant something
Could not touch it
but sure could taste it
lost in its euphoric clouds
feel its tightening grip on your gut
feel its climatic release upon first sight
after the eternity of the long night
And then came September
you could feel the pain of its loss.

Now we smile with the memories
Still having our blueberries
no longer in pancakes
Our burgers having made way
for something between the
sawdust and the kale
and seems we spend a lot more time
on the scale
Still we can make those moves
slower yes
but
in our minds we never lost a step
So smile for this is our good ole days
these are the days we once promised
we would still keep our ways
Now checking the obituary columns
counting my days
to see if we should keep on laying
or
get up and put up a resistance.

But I’ve stopped all that
I am back to my Blueberry pancakes
I am back to a burger from time to time
Never did like fries and milkshakes
so no loss
No illusions of grandeur
fully aware I’m no longer in my prime
But I’m gonna smile like never before
if only because now
I can finally appreciate what use to be
dem old folks
Rib eye prime with a glass of wine
So looking forward to tomorrow
where once again
I’ll see you
to
enjoy the endless selections
from Life’s adult menu.

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
The Bad Influence

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous