Anti-Motivational Speaker

Stop telling me how to feel

GrayMatter
The Bad Influence

--

Photo from the author

On today’s episode of Choosing Authenticity, I want to address my problematic perception of motivational speakers and motivational content.

I have to be honest. Motivational speakers and motivational content have irritated me ever since I can remember. I hate that I feel like this, but I am trying to maintain my path towards living authentically.

Real Life

I am a realist plain and simple. I scored an eight on the Enneagram test if that means anything to this discussion, but that is a conversation for a different time. I try to maintain a level head and live within the parameters of critical thinking and rational thought. I do have brief moments where I find myself dreaming about becoming the best at something or picturing my life as a millionaire, but these moments are scarce.

It’s ironic that I am writing this; because I have been involved in sports my entire life. I have been a social worker for 13 years and, more recently, a therapist as well. So, to some extent, I understand the value of motivation and encouragement. I know that it is helpful for other people, and I can see it work in real-time. However, it is something that doesn’t seem to take hold in my own life.

--

--

GrayMatter
The Bad Influence

Therapist/Client | Social Justice | Activism | Mental Health | Self-Discovery | Poetry | Editor of Authentic Diamonds.