Never a taste

As Sweet As Candy

What will this truly cost me

--

Photo by Unseen studio via unsplash

I don’t want to talk about
kisses as sweet as candy
no more
I don’t want to talk about
your lips that say
mon amour
Don’t even want to talk about
our sweet love making
on the floor
I just wana
WRITE
the
WRONGS
making
RIGHT
my melodic sentences rambling on
FOR
FAR
too
LONG

I’m going to write about the missing
and the murdered
I’m going to write about the animals
being slaughtered
The poisoning of the
WELL
The indigenous children
decades long not feeling
WELL

I want you
to begin to feel the sting
of my pen
Like the surgeon says start counting
backwards from ten
I’m ok with you hating me
for reminding you
that we are not doing
very well
But I’m sure there is much more
you can tell
There may not be a
HEAVEN
but clearly we’re all in
HELL

“Cause
I don’t want to talk about
kisses as sweet as candy
no more
I don’t want to talk about
your lips that say
mon amour
Don’t even want to talk about
our sweet love making
on the floor

I want to start writing in ways
that evens the score
I want to pen the words
you can hear
from behind your closed door
I am going to tell you things
I’ve never said before
Needless shedding tears
only to be wasted
on the floor
when water is in such
shortage beyond our shores

I challenge you
Pick up your writers sword
slash the paper with your
blood drenched words
Sell your souls for the value
of those
having not the pen or paper
having not the time to speak
later
being born with their
FREEDOM
having been
TORN
away
their heritage on the scale
to be
weighed
awaiting you and your pen to
determine
without delay
what price are you willing to
PAY

And so
I don’t want to talk about
kisses as sweet as candy
no more
I don’t want to talk about
your lips that say
mon amour
Don’t even want to talk about
our sweet love making
on the floor

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
The Bad Influence

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous