Breaking Free: The Journey from Destructive Drinking to Redemption

Battling addiction, broken condoms and abuse

Liam M
The Bad Influence

--

Image created by author

The condom fell off.

She had to fish it out.

I fell asleep.

She got a taxi home, alone, scared, and ashamed. The next day, she went to the pharmacist to get help.

I got drunk and forgot about the previous night. She messaged me, explaining what had happened. I should have apologised. Instead, I asked her how much money I owed her for the pill.

I was an inconsiderate asshole.

I’d say hurtful things without a second thought, start senseless fights, steal, cheat, break things, and, worst of all, I’d mistreat the women in my life.

I didn’t care for anyone or anything. I just wanted to get drunk.

Eventually, I hit rock bottom. Suicidal thoughts entered my mind, doctors warned me of impending liver/kidney failure, and my employer was on the verge of firing me. An inevitable consequence to my wreckless actions.

My life would implode if I didn’t change immediately.

I realised that I was the common denominator. I had caused so much pain. Alcohol turned me into a monster.

--

--

Liam M
The Bad Influence

I grew up as a black bag, but now I identify as human. Top writer in; cryptocurrency, finance, sobriety, addiction, & bitcoin