100 Words

But It Hurts!

Thrifty Words 100 #5: Working through the pain

Milk Goat: Painting by Jonica Bradley

As I sit to write this Thrifty Words 100 I am in pain. I don’t wanna.

But I’m gonna.

I’ve learned to work through the pain. Any kind of pain. Physical pain is easier for me to work through than emotional pain.

I dissociate when emotionally hurt. Sometimes I can’t feel parts of my body. I go into a fog mentally. I get stupid. My brain doesn’t work. Emotional pain causes my pistons to misfire. I am unable to work on all cylinders. Everything takes longer and is far less eloquent. I make silly mistakes. My creativity feels dull and drab and worthless.

Physical pain is often just as stressful for me but I can better cope. I can take ibuprofen to lessen the pain. I can drink booze to relax my muscles. Lately, during this cold snap and while training a goat to milk I’ve been drinking what I’ve been calling Caribbean Coffee. Black coffee sweetened with stevia and a splash (or two or three) of rum. It has helped. So have the 3 ibuprofen I just took.

I’m not looking forward to fighting with this goat again today. She is super big. Weighing in at almost 200 pounds (14 stone, 90 kilos) she is big for most dairy goats. I weigh 179 pounds (12 stone, 81 kilos). Much of my weight is muscle…

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever