By Enslaving Our Soul

Society — To be aware of one another

Pablo Pereyra
The Bad Influence

--

Tent on tunnel during my bicycle commute. Photo by Pablo Pereyra (2021)

The purpose of this piece is to help myself and the reader to see The Other. To be aware of one another, see ourselves and each other, maybe as in a mirror.
Here, the goal is to see one another less as objects of consumption and more as people whose humanity expands beyond what we can see and touch and smell and hear.
In this piece, I discuss issues that range from substance abuse to suicide. Even when I don’t indulge in gruesome details, I advise the reader to use its judgment.
In this times of celebration is when at times people feel loneliest the most.
Thank you for your time.

I scroll up and down timelines, profiles, pictures.
Did I forget about the identities these people and stories hold?
What are you?
Just a pretty face?
A narrative?
What am I?
Why do I want to consume you?
Like you are another product.

Depersonalization of the other equals depersonalization of the self.
We have lost our personhood. Now we are products.
Consume me. Suck me dry.
And if I do not fit your idea of a product: Discard me.
We will…

--

--

Pablo Pereyra
The Bad Influence

Finding inspiration in movement. Searching for identity.