50 Words 100 Words

By Royal Decree

Thrifty Words 50 #33 & 100 #12: Fiat

Royal decree from King Carl Johan of Sweden, warning the Norwegians against the repercussions for illegaly celebrating the 17th of May (Constitution Day) in 1828. Rescript from the Parliamentary Archives, Oslo. Photo by Bjoertvedt on Wikimedia

I’ve been studying a lot lately. I’ve gone “back to school” to learn as much as I can about the financial market. Investing, the language surrounding investing, and cryptocurrency. I see cryptocurrency as the future of money.

There are so many words that appear to be English, but in investment jargon do NOT mean what they usually mean. Candlestick, for example, is not something in which you place a candle, but a fancy word for a specific type of graph.

Another word I recently learned is fiat. I mean, I know what fiat means, by declaration or decree, and I know what a Fiat is. My family had one when we lived in Germany after the bottom rusted out of the Citroen.

Photo by Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

According to Merriam Webster, fiat has 3 definitions.

1: a command or act of will that creates something without or as if without further effort

according to the Bible, the world was created by fiat.

2: an authoritative determination: DICTATE

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever