Chronic Pain, Job Loss, Family Drama: I’m Fine

Re: Ideastream №85 — I’m fine: Why I refuse to succumb to the negativity surrounding me

Molly Frances
The Bad Influence

--

Photo by Silverkblack on Adobe Stock

There is an exquisite connection between the mind and the body that even scientists fail to understand completely. Somehow, the igniting of synapses in our brain can signal desire in our loins far more quickly than probing fingers. Women aren’t unique in this phenomenon. Men who claim to enjoy engaging, smart women are also clued into the way intelligence can signal arousal.

The mind-body connection extends beyond arousal. Our mental health affects our physical health in ways scientists are just beginning to understand. When someone is dealing with a chronic health condition, depression can creep in and destroy what is left of their lives.

This gross violation of my right to privacy means I may lose my job, and means I’m going to have a lawsuit to fight.

The relationship between mental and physical health is a reciprocal circuit. Poor physical health can lead to depression, anxiety, and chronic stress. Those mental health concerns can, in turn, worsen physical symptoms.

--

--

Molly Frances
The Bad Influence

Molly Frances’s writing explores what it means to be human: relationships, families, sexuality, mental health, and growth.