50/100

Feeling the Powerlessness

Thrifty word challenge roundup #:52 & #:73: Powering Down

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence
Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2022

--

As I write, news has just broken that there will be a meeting next week between the Metropolitan police and a conservative minister to discuss allegations of corruption in the Tory party, following accusations of intimidation by several conservative ministers who called for the Prime Minister’s resignation. While this discussion won’t necessarily lead to an investigation, it feels like a good first step.

I was a little surprised not to receive many more contributions on this topic; I had expected it would resonate with a lot more writers. However, I reminded myself that one definition of expectations can be ‘premeditated resentments’ — so I let go of those and declare myself happy with the five stories submitted. Enjoy!

100 WORDS

Edward Anderson pops his thrifty word writer cherry with this slam dunk

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla