Relationships

Give Less

Empaths, protect your energy

GrayMatter
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2021

--

Photo by Jakob Rosen on Unsplash

Empaths, it is time to take our power back. We must learn to stand our ground and refuse to allow people to incessantly take from us without offering anything in return. Healthy relationships are reciprocal. They are not defined by our ability to give 100% to people who give us rare emotional breadcrumbs when convenient for them.

No More

We deserve to experience true love and support from people invested in us just as much as we are invested in them. I have found myself falling for people who draw me into their chaos. I have landed in the savior role more times than I can count, and I have decided to bury that role, never to pick it up again. I feel like my soul has been wrung out after my last experience in a relationship. I have finally found enough fury to fight back against the self-deprecation that has defined my lack of self-esteem for decades.

Due to my own life experiences and attachment issues, I have found myself falling for people who offer me almost non-existent elements of emotional support. I latch onto those small demonstrations of support as they feed my cyclical need to find safe attachments. Yet, I have finally come to the understanding that the majority of these folks see what I have to offer and have no problem taking advantage of…

--

--

GrayMatter
The Bad Influence

Therapist/Client | Social Justice | Activism | Mental Health | Self-Discovery | Poetry | Editor of Authentic Diamonds.