50/100 WORDS

Give Me The Drugs Any Day

Thrifty Words Challenge 100 #17: /50 #38: Drugs and Medication

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2021

--

Photo by Altin Ferreira on Unsplash

Everything was going along swimmingly; at least that’s what I thought until I went to see my ophthalmologist last week. She looked at me aghast when I walked into her office. “What’s going on with your eyes?” I thought I heard alarm in her voice. ”It’s been seven weeks and these medications have not kicked in yet? We need to sort this out.” Then she picked up her phone.

“Dr. P.,” She purred down the phone. “You’re like Jesus Christ. We know you’re there but we never get to see you...”

Well, I got to see him the very next day, thanks to her divine intervention. And he agreed with his former student’s analysis; the drugs I’m currently on are not working for me. “But don’t worry,” he assured me, “There are plenty of other treatments we can try.”

It had been previously been explained to me that the autoimmune illness I have is known as a snowflake disease because what works to treat one person won’t necessarily help another. As the steroids and myasthenia-correcting medication (pyridostigmine) have made little difference to my condition, Dr. P. decided he would take me off some of these meds, and try me on something new to me, mycophenolate mofetil.

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla