50 Words Microfiction

Greed

Thrifty Words theme challenge #9

Baby faceplanting a cake
Photo by Henley Design Studio on Unsplash

Last week Marla Bishop challenged you with ‘Youth’. Often people equate youth to selfishness and to greed.

Are you greedy? I am.

Like a food-insecure animal, I have become super greedy over time. Not for money, although that always helps. I’ve become greedy for love and affection. I have become greedy for things I consider treats: time to myself, sleeping in, days off from work (which I don’t actually ever get since I operate a working sheep and goat ranch — things are easier when my girls aren’t in milk, but everyone needs to be fed and watered every day), compliments, small moments of joy, and just about anything money can’t buy.

Like a food-insecure animal, I growl and hiss at the things I feel threaten the things I consider treats. I am too often unwilling to share. I too often hide behind the concept of self-care. I too often feel selfish.

Like a food-insecure animal, I have been deprived much in my life and have thus become greedy.

Are you greedy? Does greed offend you? Is it ever ok to be greedy? Does being greedy just equal being needy?

You have answers and opinions.

Greed. 50 words. Go!

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever