PSYCHEDELICS

How Taking Magic Mushrooms In New Orleans Reduced My Anxiety

The quest for the cosmic clitoris.

Megan Brown
The Bad Influence
Published in
10 min readSep 22, 2020

--

Does anything feel better than an orgasm?

For me, the answer is yes.

Think I’m full of shit? Oh, just you wait.

Taking magic mushrooms with some friends on a trip to New Orleans, Louisiana changed my brain permanently. It wasn’t my first trip to NOLA. It wasn’t my first psychedelic trip either. My hopes are high that it won’t be my last time doing either of those things. This trip was different, though.

Why? Well, because I inadvertently brushed against the cosmic clitoris during my travels. It felt delicious. Plus, this accidental discovery gave me the capacity to seek it again intentionally. And again. And again. Ahhh, yes.

So what is the cosmic clit? Where is it, for that matter?

I like to think of it as a little spot in your brain built for experiencing ultimate pleasure and fulfillment in life — sensual, mental, spiritual, and emotional. Mental illness can make it harder to find. Anyone dealing with long-term mental health struggles might contemplate whether the cosmic clit exists at all. That’s why it can be a good idea to use things like psychedelics, travel, or a combination of…

--

--

Megan Brown
The Bad Influence

Professional weirdo. Late bloomer. “Gifted” burnout. Pessimistic optimist with cognitive distortions and a torn aorta.