Are you here for me

I Am The Monster~

Some days I awake in the wrong space

--

Photo by Dylan Sauerwein via Unsplash

I am the monster that scares me the most
for I am no longer seeking
The Father
Son
and Holy Ghost
Ever since their disappointment in me last summer
they’ve all moved to the coast

Now some days I awake in the wrong space
noticeable by the blank expression on my face
I can sit upright
but
my feet are miles away from the ground
I can hear all the same voices
but
there are no familiar faces around
Some days I move directly from confusion
into denial
But if anyone should attempt to rescue me
from my trial
I would just as quickly scream

“DON’T TOUCH THAT DIAL”

Of course their natural reaction comes
in echoes like the many doctors

“It is as if you do not wish to be delivered from”

And as always I would rely

“There are far too many mitigating factors”

I am the monster that scares me the most
for I am no longer seeking
The Father
Son
and Holy Ghost
Ever since their disappointment in me last summer
they’ve all moved to the coast.

Love touched me once
Albeit in the hands of the one that delivered me
Ever since
the very best that I can count on
is an occasional glance of a phantom

But I’m free to do my worst
I’m here but not
I’m sitting by the side of your river
awaiting the hand of deliverance
The hand that will hold my head
under water
while praying for me
just one more chance

And when darkness falls
the only sound I hear
is the fading beat of my dying heart
I am scratching at your hand
signaling

“Let me up, I need air”

You keep on praying
assuring my redemption is near
again I grab at your hand

“Let me up, I need air”

Finally when in desperation
I reach to pull your hand under
in my effort to make my situation clear
One last effort having heard the voices

“you are going to die down here”

I release my head from under
surfacing to find
No one
was ever there

Because

I am the monster that scares me the most
for I am no longer seeking
The Father
Son
and Holy Ghost
Ever since their disappointment in me last summer
they’ve all moved to the coast

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
The Bad Influence

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous