I Believe You, Dylan

How Woody Allen may have gotten away with child sex abuse

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

--

Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

I recently watched the four-part miniseries about the 1992 child abuse allegations levelled against Woody Allen by his seven-year-old adopted daughter, Dylan Farrow. It reminded me how chilling I found those allegations at the time; so much so, I stopped watching Woody Allen films.

As the years went by, and Allen was neither charged nor convicted, I began to think: Maybe he didn’t do it.

Watching the recent documentary Allen v Farrow led me to rethink: Maybe he did do it, he just wasn’t charged because of who he is.

Of course, this wouldn’t be the first time a wealthy and famous man has been able to escape the consequences of his actions. Think Teddy Kennedy, who not only avoided conviction, despite not immediately reporting the incident in which his female passenger Mary Jo Kopechne was killed, he also remained a Senator for 40 years subsequently.

And the list goes on. And on. Money, privilege and power offer immense protection to rich men.

As the documentary is four hours long, it would take an age to go through its entirety, but in summary, it’s fair to say this is Dylan Farrow’s story.

The background

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla