I Can Make Them Love Me (Even If You Don’t)

Parody Song Lyrics of Adele’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me”

Melissa R. Mendelson
The Bad Influence
2 min readOct 11, 2023

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

It is a good night
To sit on the bed,
Open the page, welcome the voices inside your head
Lay down with me
I’ll tell you it’s alright
Let the characters become alive
Let them hold you close, don’t stigmatize
Don’t stigmatize me

But I can’t make you love me, if you don’t
I can’t make your heart feel, mind stir, if you don’t
But here in the dark, my words will last
I will linger in those, who did hold me close
So, you won’t, no you won’t
But I still made them love me, when you don’t

They close their eyes, another life they will see
Feel the fear and love flooding through me
Pages will turn, stories to end
But maybe, they might read me again
And I will live through them again

But I can’t make you love me, if you don’t
I can’t make your heart feel, mind stir, if you don’t
But here in the dark, my words will last
I will linger in those, who did hold me close
So, you won’t, no you won’t
But I still made them love me, when you don’t

When you don’t.

Thank you for reading my writing.

You can find more of my writing on Medium and here: www.melissamendelson.com

--

--