I Don’t Believe In The Simulation Theory

I believe in onions.

Melissa R. Mendelson
The Bad Influence

--

Photo by K8 on Unsplash

I believe the first layer starts with consciousness.

Not when I’m born

because there are too many multiple factors to consider,

and I’m already in one universe.

I believe it starts when choice is made.

My brother used to walk me home from school,

but what if he didn’t?

What if I walked myself home?

What if I didn’t make an ass of myself,

bouncing a cherry off my tongue,

trying to be silly

when it was evident that none of my peers

wanted anything to do with me?

A layer peels off.

What if my family and I didn’t move upstate?

Another layer falls.

Choice after choice,

and the layers come down,

thick, overlapping, warped with mistakes.

And if a layer is ripped from the core,

it doesn’t disappear but drifts,

left to limbo,

where it affects nothing.

And nothing will affect it.

You just exist,

and that feeling of disconnect

does not belong to a simulation.

I know I won’t reach the core

because if and when I do,

then my story comes to an end.

Thank You for reading my writing. Please, keep in touch, following me here and on Twitter.

--

--