I hate minimum wage jobs!

Jordan Munson
The Bad Influence
Published in
4 min readJun 19, 2020

My name is Jordan Munson, I’m 16 years old, and I hate working.

Photo by Amandine Lerbscher on Unsplash

I know I must sound like some spoiled brat. Maybe I am, but I just can’t spend my high school years slaving away for pennies. I just don’t enjoy it. I mean who does. How could anyone enjoy washing dishes or bussing tables? I have worked 3 jobs in my first year of legal labor, a lifeguard, a movie theatre food runner, and a pizza hut cook. I can say with all honesty I was great at every one of those jobs. Seriously, I worked my ass off to prove that I was a great employee and it showed. I was not fired from any of those jobs. In fact, I could probably reapply and go back no problem. However, after about 3 months of working each of these, I quit, hoping that the next job I picked would not only show me respect but maybe be somewhat enjoyable. All 3 times I was disappointed.

They don’t care:

Let’s be real these bosses and managers don’t care about you. They only care if the job gets done. When I revealed my 2 weeks’ notice my boss knew someone else would come, and while he attempted to display sadness not once did he offer better pay or better hours. They may like you, hell they may even love you working for them, but when it’s really time to show their appreciation they’ll stay silent. You are disposable. It is just how it is, in fact, that’s how most non-skilled jobs are. You have a job that anyone can do, your boss knows that, and that’s exactly how he’s gonna treat you.

The pay is shit:

In the state of Texas minimum wage is 7.25. I’m not sure about yall but after gas and food, all you really have money for are things you never planned on buying when you applied. When I was working, the mall was my pride and joy. I might as well have been a king on my 2 days off. Next thing I know I’ve been working for 3 months and all I have to show for it is some cool shirts and a new chain. I couldn’t buy the car I wanted because that would’ve taken 3 years to save up for, and like most people, I can’t wait for 3 years to spend money. “Why don’t you save for college?” Right because I’m supposed to spend day and night running after people to put 2,000 towards my 13,000 a year tuition. The only thing that I can do that might make me feel like I’m not wasting my time is buying clothes.

It really is just insane how little money it is. It sounds great at first until you realize everything worth working for is out of your reach. A house, a car, a vacation, you don’t get a job to buy clothes, (unless that’s all you really want) you get a job to buy a lifestyle. The thing is with minimum wage jobs there is no lifestyle you can afford. Nowadays everything is so expensive. chick-fil-a may cost you 10.00, that’s more than an hour of work you just stuffed in your mouth.

There are better options:

Photo by Obi Onyeador on Unsplash

You don’t need to have a college degree to have a good job! Did yall hear me? Do not start working at Mcdonalds because you think it’s the best you can do. There are so many great jobs that can make you a real lifestyle without a college degree. For example a plumber, mechanic, landscaper, real estate agent, firefighter, hairdresser/barber, insurance sales agent, the list goes on and on. Now with the internet, anyone can start a youtube channel or do online jobs like freelance writing, photography, data entry, web developer, virtual assistant, and others. Most of these jobs are pretty easy and don’t even require you to leave your house. Most of these jobs can be learned for cheap through trade schools, or even apps like skillshare that have almost everything you could ever want to learn. Remember you have options educated or not.

I am aware of the fact that not everyone has a choice. I’m not ignorant to the fact that people work these jobs because they have to not because they want to. To those people, I salute you, my privileged ass is oblivious to your struggles and I apologize if I’ve offended you, but you need to have a goal. This situation you’re in has to be temporary. If you’re not working towards a better life then you’re wasting your time. Whether it’s a promotion, or you’re in school, or working towards a dream, just make sure your minimum wage job is not your future. Make sure you’re not working solely to survive. Don’t be content because you’re worth more. You are more.

If you haven’t heard any of what I just said remember this. Don’t stop working towards your dream lifestyle, whatever that may be. Don’t get content. Sure be appreciative of what you have but don’t lose sight of the end goal. Strive for better, not for others but for yourself.

--

--