I Learned Concept Art and Here is What I Ended Up Creating.

Sajeel Khan
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2020

Being a non-artist, 27 and bad at drawing. I was forced to sign up for a drawing for the non-artists course. I will write a story some other time about how things led me to take up this course which I never intended to.

So coming back to this story.

It was a class that consisted of people of all walks of life and all ages so they created group activities which interested children and adults were compelled to participate in those activities.

One day they asked all participants to form a circle, gave every participant a piece of paper, and then every person had to write some nouns, adjectives around the noun, or just a random addition to previously written words and pass the paper on to the next person in the circle. Once everyone made their valuable contributions in the papers that were passed around. The instructors asked us to draw a character around the words we had and write a story on it.

And since my luck prefers not to be on my side, I got the following words.

  • There was once a
  • Spiral
  • Tall
  • Mint Green
  • Big and Round Eyes
  • Fat Nose, Double Chin, Cute Cheeks
  • Lives in a Treehouse
  • Eats Fungus

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT, MAJORITY OF THE PARTICIPANTS IN THE CLASS WERE CHILDREN.

So, being the brilliant non-artist I am. I drew my first character.

Mr. Monster Spiral. My first Attempt.

Yeah, this was low even for my standards so I gave my artistic talents another shot.

Mr. Samurai Spiral. My Second Attempt.

I know it’s bad but when I started working on the eyes and beard, it started to resemble a samurai. Anyway, the resilient guy I am, I made one final attempt.

Mr. Ugly Spirals. My Final Attempt.

I thought to myself, okay it’s still really bad but at least it looks like a clown and the drawing has colors in it so I decided to go with this one. The next part was to write a story on it.

So what are you about to read is something I wrote for this drawing…

There was once a spiral, he was tall and looked mint green. He had ugly round eyes that were big for his face. People called him Mr. Ugly Spirals because he also had a fat nose, a double chin, and pink spirally cheeks which he thought looked cute on his face.

He had a weakness for fungus. He loved to eat fungus and people could see the remains dripping down him. It used to gross people out. He wished people realize that he didn’t have the proper mouth to keep his food inside but he always used to see the disgust on their faces when he ate. So one day he decided to build a treehouse for himself and started to stay away from the crowds. The treehouse was beautiful, resting on a tall tree having a window from where he could see the sun rising. He used to wake up at dawn to see the sunrise every day. It always gave warm feelings to Mr. Spirals, reminding him of all the life inside him which he didn’t have the chance to share with other people. But at the same time this realization made him spiral inwards and with a thousand sunrises and a thousand realizations, he went in too deep in himself and accepted the fact that he’s going to be Mr. Ugly Spirals with a beautiful treehouse.

What did you expect?

A remarkable display of art and story writing talent from a software developer?

#The Bad Influence #SelfRidicule

--

--

Sajeel Khan
The Bad Influence

Software Developer | Gamer | Singer | Movie Lover | Keen Observer | User of the Imagination