50/100 WORDS

I Visited A Little Library

Thrifty Word Challenge 100 Words #41 & 50 Words #62: Library

Melissa R. Mendelson
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Photo by the Author

I didn’t think that there were any near my home, so I went on Facebook, creating a post and asking if there was. It turns out that there was a Little Library in the park maybe five to ten minutes away from me, but then I worried about being allowed into the park. I saw that you needed a permit, but when I pulled up beside the security booth, the guard asked me what my business was. “I’m donating books to the Little Library,” I said, and he let me pass. Now, if I never read a Poets & Writers Magazine, I would not have known what to look for, but there it was at the end of the park near the office building.

When I was a little girl, my parents bought me a doll house. I haven’t thought of that doll house in a long time, and I believe it was lost when we moved away from Long Island. The Little Library reminded me of it except that it was green and on a large stake pushed into the ground. It even had a glass door with a lock that you slide open, and I was not surprised at the children’s books inside. But then I saw American Therapy: The Rise Of Psychotherapy In The United States by Jonathan Engel, and I realized that this Little Library was not just for kids. And I knew that the books I held in my arms would find a good home, and…

--

--