I Was Grateful for My Mask Today

When I bumped into my ex-fiancé at a supermarket.

Emme Beckett
The Bad Influence

--

Disclaimer: Not actually how I dress to go to the supermarket. Image by AS Inc. on Shutterstock

I was grateful for the mask today when I bumped into you.

“It’s been a while, Beckett. How have you been?” you asked.

Knowing instantly, intimately, who the voice belonged to, I twisted my head in your direction.

Those eyes.

Those eyes told me you were smiling. So was I.

“I’ve been okay. Great. Really great. Just looking for capers for a recipe,” I said. Why did I just say that?

Could you feel my nerves? The mask absorbed my deep exhale.

I straightened my legs to stand from the squat I was in. Two jars in my hands. You seemed taller. Or different. Twenty years can do that, I suppose.

“Did you get shorter?” you asked, placing your flat palm on the top of my head, pressing down like I was a human button.

Your touch. . .

Touch my head again. Like you used to. Tuck my hair behind my ear. Grab the back of my head and pull me to you.

Our Past — A Lifetime Ago

I was grateful for the mask today.

--

--