100/50 WORDS

“I’m A Celebrity”

Thrifty Word Challenge 100 #74: & 50 #95: Uncomfortable

Melissa R. Mendelson
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2022

--

I came home on Friday after work, and my parents were waiting for me, smiles on their faces. I asked if they saw the article in the local newspaper about the new short story collection that included one of my stories, and they nodded. Then, they said, “I made the front page. I’m a celebrity.”

I hurried into the kitchen, finding the newspaper on top of the microwave. Yes, I made the front page, and I should have been proud. Another one of my short stories had found a home, and my name was sent out into the world again. But I just looked at myself, uncomfortable at how I appeared. The top was not flattering, and I didn’t like my hair. I know I’m guilty of criticizing myself, and I find it hard to look at myself in the mirror. A lot of times, I don’t like what I see. A friend of mine recently realized that, and I realized that it must’ve started around 2018 when the GYN issues began. I know that took a lot out of me, and it’s been difficult, especially with the recent surgery. And I haven’t even processed any of that. I’m trying not to, putting my attention into writing or watching YouTube videos, and right now, I’m enjoying the roundtables from The Hollywood Reporter.

--

--