100/50 Words

Joy In Every Cloud

Thrifty Word Challenge 100 Words #25 & 50 Words #46: Silver Linings

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2021

--

A while back I was listening to a podcast in which a cancer survivor shared some of her life’s experiences. One thing she said which really struck home was this:

“I asked God to give me strength and I was given problems that made me stronger.”

I understood what she meant because I too have sought to bring more joy into my life, and despite appearances to the contrary lately, I’ve succeeded in that.

Yes, I’ve developed an autoimmune condition that has curtailed my freedom. Yet it’s also allowed me to focus on those things that I truly love, enabling me to let go of the mediocre and unnecessary. What I have discovered is that even in times of trouble, there are always joys to be found.

Above all, it’s led me to realise that every cloud has a silver lining.

Be it the friend I hadn’t seen in an age arriving on my doorstep with a pot of my favourite stew, or celebrating my release (from a total of 31 days in hospital) on a ‘beach’ in London, time after time I’ve found reasons to smile.

What sorts of things would you do if you discovered you had half the energy you’ve got today? What would you refuse to let…

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla