Knight in a Sweaty Ballcap

A feminist’s love letter

Animatronic dragon from the Movie Dragon Heart
Photo by Laith Abushaar on Unsplash

A Knight in a Sweaty Ball Cap.

Yes. That is you. My Knight.

And am I your Princess? Do I need rescuing from the dragon?

No. I AM the dragon.

The dragon full of anger, twisted by shame, made small and weak with self-loathing. Dragons, after all, are contemptible. To be despised. Unworthy of love. Ugly to the core.

You argue.

You are not here to slay the dragon. I am the dragon and you love me.
You see my anger and call it righteous. You strike down the princess as a social construct of which you want none. You take my shame and THAT is what you slay.

You say my name and I grow larger, and stronger, and unashamed. You are so proud of me. I become proud. And I preen.

I am the dragon.

You are my Knight in a Sweaty Ball Cap.

Jonica is a writer, rancher, painter, and poet. For the past ten years, she has been living and working on a ranch in Texas with her husband, 1 teenager, 2 dogs, 1 cat, 2 goats, 12 sheep, a handful of chickens, 4 drakes, and 1 llama. She writes about all of this and her many, varied life experiences. Jonica is a mental health advocate and shares her experiences in…

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever