It was the summer of ‘63

Loss To Society~

When the donor left

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

It was a hot night in the summer of 63
Arriving after nine months
The first time my momma would finally see me
But when the donor left
I became right then
forever
A loss to society

I've spent a lifetime
trying to climb ladders
with no rung
built just for losers
like me
I've tasted every bitter pill
swallowed or injected
more than any one child's share of reality

How I've prayed to return
to that night my momma first saw me
But
the donor having left
forever
I'll remain
A loss to society

I swear to the heavens
I've stood to every challenge
thrown me
I've crawled from every darken room
through the blood
having survived the brutality

And still
matters not how hard I've tried
things always go to the other guy
Perhaps if I had but a single tear to share
A single drop would satisfy
When you are nothing more
than
Just a loss to society
having nothing but time
tomorrow
again
we’ll try
No!
Tomorrow
I WILL BE
the other guy

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
The Bad Influence

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous