Some days

My Monster

Hides under the table

--

Young woman in a red gown in dark desert landscape
Photo by Soroush golpoor via unsplash

Some days I am a monster
afraid of nothing
Some days there are not enough tables
to hide under
Some days I grieve for no one
sharing not even the scraps
Some days I fall asleep
starving
Pride and ego fighting
me falling in the gaps

I have never seen the wonders
of a falling star
though I've looked
here
beyond and far
I've fallen in love once and lost
Trying to convince myself
forever never ever lasts
a lifetime spent awaiting
the pain to pass

Pride and ego fighting
me falling in the gaps
And in the darkness
your light is passing
Pride and ego fighting
awaiting the passing to stop

Today my monster smiles
soothed by your caress
his rage cooled by your love
Today my monster is ok
but we both know
it’s only a test
living in fear of what comes
at the end of the day
having done my best

Back in chains
Pack away the china
Block all the drains
Put your crosses away
for another day
this monster
is not in the mood to play
Hearts at risk of being broken
What was once silent
now loudly spoken

Pride and ego fighting
me falling in the gaps
And in the darkness
your light is passing
Pride and ego fighting
awaiting the passing to stop

@Anthony2024mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
The Bad Influence

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous