Nobody “cares”

Jan White
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2019

--

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Every morning when I open my eyes it begins. Thoughts. Thoughts about a gazillion things. I am so stressed about bills right now, how do I pay them? It’s Saturday, the kids are home today, what will I do with them? Crap…the kids are home, nothing is getting accomplished today. Should we take a vacation in Florida this summer? Should I really spend money throwing myself a 40th birthday party? Should I write a stupid article for Medium? I really want to. I keep thinking about it. I mean why not? Except people will see it & know what’s going on with me. What will they think?

Most thoughts are not exclusive to me and I venture to say are fairly universal. Some thoughts don’t necessarily have immediate or easy answers. But what about the thoughts that keep spinning & spinning & have something to do with an action you could take. NOW. TODAY. Why do we allow them to keep rolling around on the hamster wheel when we could do something about it? Why do we let fear stop us from taking action?

Because we think someone cares. I mean, maybe your mom might care about what you put “out there” but in general, nobody else will care. People spend…

--

--