50/100 WORDS

Questioning The Next

Thrifty Word Challenge 100: #27 and 50: #48 Next

Melissa R. Mendelson
The Bad Influence
Published in
2 min readJul 26, 2021

--

Photo by Mihály Köles on Unsplash

I was talking to a coworker today about what’s next. Do I stay where I am, or do I plan the next move? She listed some options, and they were good options. But it felt like another box. I seem to put myself, my life into a box, but I’m beginning to think that I don’t fit into boxes like everyone else. They have their life, their family, their job. That’s their box. It’s not mine, but if I don’t accept one, then I’m stuck like I usually am. Or I need to make my own shape. If I had a good support system, I would venture out on my own, try to find that space, where I really belong, but I don’t. I’m stuck, jumping from box to box to box, and I am tired of jumping. I’m tired of dodging close calls. I want to make my own space in this world, and I want the world to know me. But I don’t know what to do next except keep doing what I’m doing. I’m writing constantly, throwing stories and poetry out there, hoping for someone to discover me, but is that enough? Or am I doomed to live in a box?

--

--