She Could’ve Told Me My Actions Would Lead To My Death

A turkey shares beyond the grave

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

--

Left, Tom Turkey, and (right) his mate, waiting in vain to get laid / photos by Jonica Bradley

One of my greatest regrets is that I never got a chance to fulfill my life’s ambition; I’d intended to spread my seed far and wide. But the end came so quickly.

The funny thing is: I didn’t even realise I was hurting her, the lady farmer who fed and watered me daily. I thought she enjoyed our romps when I would chase her around the farmyard, gobbling furiously and pecking her on any part of her body I could access. I thought we were having fun!

I didn’t know my beak hurt her skin. It didn’t hurt me when I burrowed beneath my feathers, itching and cleaning.

If only she would’ve let me know then I could’ve chosen to stop, rather than have my head separated from my body.

One thing I will say for the lady farmer though; she didn’t let an ounce of me go to waste. She even kept a few of my beautiful feathers as decoration.

Oh well, c’est la vie.

(As channeled to the author from Tom the turkey)

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla