The Corona Chronicles

So, I Shacked up With My Boyfriend for the Coronapocalypse…

Five days into quarantine, we’re staying sane and counting our blessings

Ena Dahl
The Bad Influence
Published in
4 min readMar 24, 2020

--

My daughter’s feet are much bigger than those, but apart from that, this image by Simon Matzinger via Unsplash is rather accurate.

—Ena here. Reporting from quarantine.

Jeez, those are words I never thought I’d say.

But, alas, here we are, shacked up in the apartment of my boyfriend, Jay. It’s him, my almost-five-year-old daughter, Ella, and myself.

To stay, or not to stay…

The three of us never lived all together, until last week. But, last Monday, as the city of Berlin began to shut down, and isolation, as well as potentially strict curfews, became imminent, we made the bold decision to temporarily move in, under one roof.

On the last day before schools closed, for at least a month and maybe longer, I seriously considered my mother’s offer to fly us back to Oslo to stay with her: The extra help with Ella and mom’s home-cooking sounded awfully tempting, yet, the thought of flying during this time, as well as leaving Jay behind indefinitely, deterred me.

When he offered to take us both in at his place, it didn’t take long until I settled on staying put (supported by the Twitter hivemind).

--

--

Ena Dahl
The Bad Influence

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.