Self-Improvement

Speak Your Peace

Pain is a language

GrayMatter
The Bad Influence
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2020

--

Photo from the author

Years of tortured, restless thoughts have been firmly stored in the recesses of my mind. Trauma and lack of safe attachments allowed me to reside in different levels of hell daily while simultaneously learning how to show everyone else I was living a “genuine” and full life. It wasn’t until today that I realized that my pain is a language that other people can understand and speak.

Lost in Translation

I cannot count how many times I have chosen silence amidst opportunities when I could have shared what is etched onto the tattered pages of my life’s story. The weight of my experiences cannot often be carried or understood by those who wish to relate on a surface level. There have been times that I have chosen to open up, but the odd looks, the quick subject changes, the uncomfortable jokes, and the solemn silence were quick to slam the door and demand everything return to their wretched hiding spaces.

I would often choose not to share because I had no control over the consequences of baring my soul.

Throughout my life, there have been multiple therapists, family members, friends, significant others, and acquaintances that have requested my openness and then completely misheard and misinterpreted what I said. After a…

--

--

GrayMatter
The Bad Influence

Therapist/Client | Social Justice | Activism | Mental Health | Self-Discovery | Poetry | Editor of Authentic Diamonds.