100/50 WORDS

Sweet Miracles Undaunted

Thrifty Word Challenge 100 Words #34: & 50 Words #55: Undaunted

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readSep 20, 2021

--

Definition of Undaunted

adjective

not intimidated or discouraged by difficulty, danger, or disappointment.

“they were undaunted by the huge amount of work needed”

I don’t know about you but when I was younger there was so much I wanted to try that I didn’t. Whether it was talking to someone as yet unmet, or trying a new experience. Fear held me back, as well as a lack of confidence. Youth, as we know, is wasted on the young. (At least according to George Bernard Shaw.)

I’m grateful that as I’ve gotten older I’ve become braver; more able to go for my dreams. To try, and keep on trying, irrespective of knowing whether or not things will pan out the way I hope. It’s called wisdom I guess. I’ve learned nothing ventured, nothing gained. I may not have control of outcome, but my own actions, I definitely can control if I try.

This attitude means that today I do more things I love and much less things I don’t. It’s the reason I work for myself, rather than as an employee. And why self-care is very high up my list of priorities, every day.

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla