“The Night Of” Sets New Standard for Mini-Series

This 8 episode murder mystery is raw, intriguing, and well-acted

Akshay Ravi
The Bad Influence

--

Screengrab from the series

No one recommended this one to me. I accidentally stumbled upon this limited mini-series on the Disney Hotstar platform. I thought I would give it a try, and to be honest, if you manage to watch this for the first 15 to 20 minutes, there is no holding you back after that. I finished this one in a day not because that is how I generally roll, but purely because of the fact that I could not wait. This show is addictive, raw, intriguing, and very well acted. Since it involves the story of a US citizen with roots in Pakistan, there are a handful of talented South Asian actors in this series which is very refreshing. Of them, Riz Ahmed plays the lead character to perfection. I hope and wish that he needs no introduction. But if any one of you is unaware, he is a British actor and rapper who shot to fame with his outstanding performance in the academy award-nominated film, “Sound of Metal”. For his performance, Riz was also nominated for an academy award for the Best Actor.

Now let's get into the meat of it- Who should watch this one? If you are someone who does not wish to be tied to a show that runs for many seasons, but yet wants to have a very well-made binge-worthy series, this could be for you. But this is not a fast-paced murder…

--

--

Akshay Ravi
The Bad Influence

I sometimes revisit my writings, and I am almost always disappointed. But if you still may, you will stumble upon mostly short fiction, technology otherwise