The Real Reason Millennials Don’t Sing Sea Shanties

And it’s not because they don’t know what to do with a drunken sailor

Lee Serpa Azevado
The Bad Influence

--

Why did the Irish pirate walk the plank?

Because he couldn’t afford a dog.

I once told the above joke to a Millennial. They said they found it offensive. I asked why. “It ‘discriminates against minorities,” I was told.

“Can you be more pacific?” I asked. “Cross me hearty and hope to die, I didn’t mean any offense,” I added.

“You clearly think pussies should have fewer rights than dogs.”

I thought he was pulling my pegleg. “Don’t you mean cats, me matey?” I asked.

“No, I do not! I mean pussies,” was his abrupt reply. He looked anxious and irritable. He appeared to be swashbuckling under the strain of the conversation.

I tried explaining what I meant. “If you insist on using the word pussy, schooner or later someone is going to poke fun at you about it. And I’m guessing you wouldn’t want that…”

“Do not tell me what to do,” he shouted. He seemed a bit of a loose cannon.

As a consequence of telling a harmless joke, I now found myself stuck between the devil and the deep…

--

--

Lee Serpa Azevado
The Bad Influence

Scribbler of stuff, psychotherapist, giant punsexual, pronouns: fee-fie/foe-fum. Mental health(y), humo(u)r, politic(k)s and other such no(n)sense.